NUI Galway Alumni Award Winners 2011 - - March 2, 2011

The 2011 Alumni Awards was hosted by RTÉ newsreader Siún Nic Gearailt, a graduate of NUI Galway.

{event_image} {/event_image}

2011 Alumni Awards

The 2011 Alumni Awards  was hosted by RTÉ newsreader Siún Nic Gearailt, a graduate of NUI Galway. The Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University's more than 80,000 graduates worldwide. The Awards programme boasts an impressive roll call of 68 outstanding graduates who have gone on to honour their alma mater, including, for example, Michael D. Higgins, Ciarán FitzGerald, Sean O'Rourke, Professor Frank Gannon, Dr Luke Clancy and Gráinne Seoige.

The winners of the six alumni awards presented at Gala 2011 were as follows: Bank of Ireland Award for Business, Public Policy and Law Gabriel D'Arcy BSc 1981, CEO Bord na Móna Bank of Ireland Award for Engineering and Informatics Michael Conroy BE 1984, General Manager, Cisco Product Group, Ireland Seavite Alumni Award for Science Dr Gerald Farrell BSc 1981, HDip Ed 1982, Managing Director of Eli Lilly (ROI) & former President of Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association (IPHA) AIB Award for Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies John Walshe BA 1968, HDip Ed 1969 Education Editor, Irish Independent Medtronic Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Dr Brian Griffin MB, BCh, BAO 1979, Cleveland Clinic, USA - Director, Cardiovascular Disease Training Programme & The John and Rosemary Brown Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine; US Associate Editor, Heart Aer Arann Alumni Award for Sports Achievement and Leadership Colm Murray BA 1972, RTÉ Sports Presenter.

Front Row: Ms Siún Nic Gearailt, MC,  Mr Colm Murray, Ms Mairin Gilvarry, Alumni Board Chair. Rear: Mr Gabriel D'Arcy, Dr Brian Griffin, Mr John Walshe, Mr John Farrell, Dr Jim Browne, President, Mr Mike Conroy, Dr Gerald Farrell.